top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Long Term installation

Poster Design:

For my poster design I decided to include a quote that I felt was reflective of my installation entitled Casting Shadows.

Research/Inspiration: Monika Grzymala was an inspiration for my installation. This work inspired me to hang my paper from the ceiling with fishing line. Her installation entitled Volumen is a site specific installation with handmade paper. I've included a source link for this piece and my research.

http://www.themorgan.org/exhibitions/monika-grzymala

Volumen by Monika Grzymala

Liliana Porter was another artist I researched. Her Wrinkle Environment installation is what originally gave me the idea to use paper to decorate the wall. I've included a source link to her work and for this specific piece.

http://inhabitat.com/liliana-porters-wrinkle-environment-is-an-interactive-recyclable-art-installation-made-of-copy-paper/

Wrinkle Environment by Liliana Porter

My third artist I researched was Andy Goldsworthy. I chose Goldsworthy as a source material because even though he doesn't directly work with paper, he uses his environment. My installation is similar it is all about the environment and nature. In the photo below Goldworthy literally casts a shadow with his own body. I've also included a source link for this research.

http://www.urchinmovement.com/2011/12/14/andy-goldsworthy-environmental-sculpture-and-art/

Shadow by Andy Goldsworthy

Artist Statement: The Installation entitled Casting Shadows is about the relationship between nature and light. I used paper as a material to represent the fragility and weightlessness of nature. I used two different types of paper, one was lace and the other was a plain paper that I cut patterns into. These patterns are suggestive of flower petals and leaves. I also chose a simplistic color palette to create a quiet environment for viewers. The shadows emphasize the beauty found in nature, while also making us aware of our surroundings.

Photo's of Installation:

Title: Casting shadows

Materials: Paper and fishing line

Dimensions: apx.12 by 5 feet


bottom of page