top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Spell Reading #4 The Flesh of Language, pp. 73 - 91

On page 77, the last sentence of the first paragraph

"Language, in this view, is rather like a code; it is a way of representing actual things and events in the perceived world"

Artist Statement: This entire chapter really focused on language and it's origins. This specific sentence made me think of language as a literal code. It also makes me think of language as a bunch of signs arranged in random sequence. I decided to literally translate the original sentence into hebrew, and burn the words into a piece of wood. I chose hebrew because the language is foreign to me and I see it a a type of "code".

Title: Hebrew

Materials: Wood

Dimensions:


bottom of page