top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

B.A Portfolio

This week I planned on finishing my raccoon piece, however I wanted to take a break from that piece and start something new. I'm doing an independent study with Laura for wheel throwing and glazing techniques. I am also doing an independent hand building project where I'm making hanging flower pieces. I made one and I also had my raccoon piece in the ceramics room as well when making the hanging flower piece. I realized that the wall piece and my raccoon burning went very well together, a student actually came in and asked if they were one piece. After this I decided in addition to the ones I am making for my independent study, I also wanted to make a different collection for this class and for my work that I've already produced. Not only do I think it will make a nice addition to my portfolio but I like the idea of adding another 3-dimensional material into my work, I think it balances everything out.

I created a ball shape and hollowed out the bottom so it can hang on a wall. I put the sponge in the bottom to help keep it's shape.

The start of the first flower. I create each petal separately and they wait for the clay to harden before drawing lines into the clay.

Second flower, first petal

Adding more petals to the flower

Almost finished

My inspiration for this work comes from a ceramicist I follow on instagram, her username is wallflowerlondon and her website is www.walflower.london/

All of her wall pieces are flower arrangements, I love this idea and I thought I could try to replicate it in my own way and style.

Below are pictures from her instagram

I was going to spend spring break making as many of these as I can because sometimes clay breaks in the kiln and overall it's a long process, especially waiting for the clay to dry out then bisque, fire, glaze, and fire again.


bottom of page