top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

B.A Portfolio

This week I continued working on my mini series and wood stump. I looked up the artist you mentioned to me, Charley Harper. I really liked his illustrations and use of color. In fact his use of color is what really jumped out to me. After looking at a couple of his animal illustrations I was inspired to add color to my piece. I don't want to take away from the shading of the burning so I decided to lightly use prima colors. I also made the choice to use only 3 colors. I think by doing this it adds a nice subtlety to it.

I really like the soft colors in this one. I especially like his choice to make the background predominantly one color, which is why I chose to stick to purples and blue tones.

This particular illustration is what initially drove me to try the prisma colors.

I now have the entire body done, I finished the right side and started the left. I added a lot more shading and fur overall. I also began shading the flowers and adding more details. I started developing some color in a few of the flowers. It's more noticeable in person. I also put some wood stain on the raccoon.

So I found these stumps a little bit ago. Once my piece is finished I'd like to use this with the piece. I was thinking about hanging my raccoon piece and then having one of these stumps sit underneath it. I wanted to have an arrangement of flowers laying on the stump.

A close up of the colored flowers.

Full view

This is where I practiced making certain flowers and experimented with the wood stain.

This is one of the new canvases that is fur on top and yarn around all four sides

side view

Next Week- For next week my goal is to finish the raccoon piece and start another work unrelated to my mini canvases. I think I might go back to painting as well.


bottom of page