top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Hand building project

In addition to my glaze tiles and wheel throwing, I am also working on a hand building project. My inspiration for this work comes from a ceramicist I follow on instagram, her username is wallflowerlondon and her website is www.walflower.london/.

All of her wall pieces are floral arrangements. I was inspired by these wall pieces and thought I could replicate similiar work, in my own style. Below are pictures from her instagram

This is the first wall piece I made

For my first wall piece I wanted to try making several different flowers, and add some texture.

After fire

I also made two other small wall hanging pieces to accompany the middle piece. I used a long needle tool to make tiny holes. All three pieces are hollowed out, Allowing for them to hang on a wall.

My second series of wall hangings are also a collection. However, they are a collection of four, instead of three. I made them big to small. I also used a tool to make the floral texture that appears on each piece.

I am also currently in portfolio with Sara Pedigo. I liked this project a lot and in addition to this independent study I decided I wanted to make another one of these wall pieces specifically for my portfolio class. Even though this piece does not count toward my independent study, I thought it was important to include pictures of it, to document my progress with these wall pieces.

I used this technique for all my wall pieces, to help them keep their shape.

Finished piece


bottom of page